The People Who Make It Happen

The SCARCE staff is made up of a amazing group of people who all have one thing in common: their passion for working towards a more sustainable world for future generations. The SCARCE team reaches thousands of people yearly – in schools, businesses and community groups – with innovative environmental education programs. With backgrounds ranging from teaching to environmental science, the SCARCE staff will do whatever it takes to answer your question, help you organize an event or teach you a bit more about what you can do to reduce your environmental footprint.  (Not pictured – Heather & Jan)

SCARCE’s Founder

Kay McKeen

Kay is the Founder and Executive Director of School and Community Assistance for Recycling and Composting Education (SCARCE). Kay’s dedication to improve the sustainability of our communities has earned her numerous awards over the years, including one of Suburban Life Magazine’s 2015 Women of Distinction and the 2016 Illinois Recycler of the Year and . Most recently, Kay was awarded the 2017 Nonprofit Executive of the Year by the West Suburban Philanthropic Network.

Kay has been recognized for the effectiveness of the programs SCARCE has developed and the legislation she has co-written to foster sustainability state-wide. Kay frequently speaks to inspire people on how to care for the earth.

Our Staff

Meet the dedicated staff members, board members, and volunteers that have made SCARCE what it is today.

Bev Jaszczurowski

Chief Operating Officer

Carina Ruscitti

Resource Rescue Assistant

Erin Kennedy

Environmental Educator, LEED Green Associate

Heather Goudreau

Environmental Educator & Special Projects

Jan Breyne

Environmental Educator

Jasmine Flores

Resource Rescue Assitant

Jean Kent

Environmental Educator

Olivia Ryan

Resource Rescue Coordinator

Rachel Carlson

Resource Rescue Assistant

Rose Naseef

Volunteer Coordinator & Environmental Educator

SCARCE Board Members

Barb Ryan


Beverly Griffith


Dan Scoles

Board Member

Hilary Denk

Board Member

Jill Donaldson

Board Member

Kelly Zownorega

Board Member

Linette George


Margie Thorgesen

Board Member

Maureen Slaven

Board Member

Penny Linneweh

Vice President

Tammy Bristol

Board Member

Valerie Luporini

Board Member

Are You Ready To Do Your Part?

Volunteer Donate

Review our safety protocols and accepted items before your visit.